Skip to content

Use Code: Overstock 10 | Get 10% OFF Overstock Inventory

    Do Twizzlers Actually Have Licorice In Them?

    Do Twizzlers Actually Have Licorice In Them?

    What Are Twizzlers Made Of?

    The main difference between Twizzlers and licorice is that Twizzlers are made with corn syrup, wheat flour, sugar, and molasses instead of real licorice root extract. Twizzlers also contain vegetable oil, citric acid, natural flavorings, artificial colorings (caramel color or red 40), and other ingredients that typical licorice products donā€™t have. Additionally, unlike traditional licorice which can be chewy or hardened depending on the recipe and cooking process used to make it, Twizzlers are always chewy in texture.

    Ā 

    Twizzlers may taste sweet like traditional black licorice but they do not contain any of the medical properties traditionally associated with true black licorice due to the lack of real licorice root extract in them. So while they may taste similar to some types of black licorices sold commercially at stores or online today due to added flavoring ingredients like molasses or anise oil being used in the product formulation process; there's none of the naturally-occurring glycyrrhizin health benefits associated with actual Big Red, Good & Plenty, Vines, Ropes type black/red Licorce treats!

    Ā 

    The debate between Twizzlers and licorice has been ongoing for years. Are Twizzlers actually licorice, or are they just a very convincing impostor? Letā€™s take a closer look at this classic candy conundrum.

    Ā 

    What is Licorice?

    In order to answer whether or not Twizzlers are licorice, we must first define what exactly licorice is. Real licorice is made from the root of the licorice plant, which contains glycyrrhizin, an ingredient that gives it its signature sweetness. As such, real licorice has a taste that can range from slightly sweet to intensely sweet. Licorice also has an unmistakable black color that comes from a natural food coloring called anise oil.

    Ā 

    What are Twizzlers?

    Twizzlers have been around since 1845, but despite their long standing in the candy world, they are not considered true licorice due to their lack of real licorice extract. In fact, most Twizzlers have no trace of licorice whatsoever! Instead, they contain ingredients like corn syrup, wheat flour and molassesā€”ingredients that give them their chewy texture and fruity flavors. Twizzlers also get their red color from artificial food coloring instead of anise oil like traditional licorice does.

    Ā 

    Do Twizzlers actually have licorice in them?

    Ultimately, while there may be similarities between the two candies in terms of flavor profile and texture, thereā€™s one key difference between them: real licorice contains real licorice extract while most Twizzlers do not. The classic twizzlers do indeed contain licorice extract.Ā The most popular flavors for example, cherry and strawberry, do not contain actual licorice extract but have that same snack time appeal we all know and love! So next time you reach for a tasty treat from your local convenience store or gas station snack aisleā€”you can rest assured knowing that you are getting something delicious!